Goodbye Cruel World

I have better things to do than accept you as you are.

Unperson Pending
6 min readJun 25, 2021

or…

It’s not you…it’s me…no wait…it is you and YOU SUCK!

Image Courtesy of Pixabay.com

It’s time for me to bow out of this relationship. Well…actually, it was time a long time ago, but it’s difficult to talk to you when you are so self-absorbed that you can’t take seriously even the most benign critiques of your behavior. I lay awake most nights wondering why you can’t be more self-aware, why you can’t be trusted to be the adult in the room and more often tend to act more childish than the vast majority of children alive today.

I mean, why should I tolerate your embrace of reality television, your glorification of people with repugnant personalities who have nothing worthwhile to contribute to the human condition, when I find it much more rewarding and valid to discover a more realistic portrait of reality through the study of history and what it has to say about human nature…?

Why should I accept your enthusiasm for Anime when the animators who produce the products over which you salivate are exploited by their bosses beyond any rational definition of what is reasonable where it regards labor practices, not unlike when Walt Disney began shafting his animators during the mid-20th Century when his company faced a potential financial downturn……

--

--